STEVENAGE BOROUGH COUNCIL

COUNCIL MINUTES

Date: Wednesday, 21 July 2021 Time: 7.00pm

Place: Main Auditorium, Gordon Craig Theatre, Lytton Way, Stevenage

Present: Councillors: Sandra Barr (Mayor 2021/22), Margaret Notley (Deputy

Mayor), Myla Arceno, Julie Ashley-Wren, Doug Bainbridge, Philip Bibby CC, Stephen Booth, Lloyd Briscoe, Rob Broom, Teresa Callaghan, Matt Creasey, Michael Downing, John Duncan, Alex Farquharson, John Gardner, Liz Harrington, Jody Hanafin, Richard Henry, Jackie Hollywell, Chris Howells, Wendy Kerby, Graham Lawrence, Nick Leech, Mrs Joan Lloyd, Andy McGuinness, Maureen McKay, Sarah Mead, Adam Mitchell CC, Robin Parker CC, Claire Parris, Loraine Rossati, Graham Snell, Simon Speller, Sharon Taylor OBE CC, Jeannette Thomas and Tom

Wren.

Start / End Start Time: 7.00pm **Time:** End Time: 7.11pm

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE AND DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors Adrian Brown, Lizzy Kelly and Lin Martin-Haugh.

There were no declarations of interest.

2 HONORARY ALDERMAN

The meeting had been convened to consider a Motion to confer the title Honorary Alderman on Mr David Cullen.

Councillor Sharon Taylor in moving the motion paid tribute to David Cullen for his outstanding service to the town as a Councillor and that in his 36 years' service he had not only represented the residents of the Bedwell Ward, but had also championing Planning in the Town.

Councillor Mrs Joan Lloyd formally seconded the Motion and stated that she wholeheartedly agreed with the comments made by Councillor Taylor.

Councillor Phil Bibby CC, Leader of the Opposition and Councillor Robin Parker CC, Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group both spoke in favour of the motion.

It was moved, seconded and **RESOLVED** that in accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman on Mr David Cullen who had rendered over 36 years' eminent

service as a Councillor representing the people of the Town, particularly in the Bedwell Ward and in championing Planning in the Town.

MAYOR